Sunday, March 11, 2012

Enter Music Publishing Grooves Forward With The 17th Annual Drummies Voting Now Open Till May 1

San Jose, Calif. — It’s exciting, respected, a bit controversial yet fun. That’s right, it’s Drummies time! Comprised of more than 40 categories, Enter Music Publishing’s annual awards/poll officially opens March 10 in the artist and gear categories. Drummers and drumming fans can cast their votes at
Great Expectations: Diverse Drum Categories
Like last year, Enter Music Publishing expects very strong voting returns. In 2011 approximately 7,300 drummers participated in the Drummies, which comprise 42 categories, from “Best Drummer” to “Most Popular Cymbal.” “This year’s Drummies are probably going to be the biggest yet,” noted Andy Doerschuk, editorial director and co-founder of Enter Music Publishing. “As with last year, we have such diverse drumming categories like jazz, hip-hop, blues, rock, pop, and others for drum set and hand percussion."
“The Drummies is the coolest event each year because it honors outstanding artists,” said Phil Hood, publisher and co-founder of Enter Music Publishing. “Last year’s voting was a big success and this year promises to be even bigger.”
Key Percussive Points
To clarify for Drummies newcomers, there are certain rules that relate to voting. Enter Music Publishing likes to make the voting process fun and be thorough about all issues related to the voting process such as:
  1. You can only vote once.
  2. Voting is open to any drummer — you don’t have to be a subscriber to the magazine or work in the industry.
  3. You don’t have to vote in all categories.
  4. Drummers who have won five or more times in a single category aren’t eligible to win in that category again. But they can win another category.
The drummers who have won five or more times and been inducted into the Drummies Hall Of Fame include: Travis Barker (punk), Neil Peart (drummer of the year), ?uestlove (hip-hop), Chad Smith (funk), Josh Freese (studio), Luis Conte (studio percussion), Airto (Jazz percussion), Giovanni Hidalgo (Latin percussion),Joey Jordison (metal), Dave Weckl (jazz/fusion), and Carter Beauford (jam band).
Drummer Of The Year: Mike Portnoy Pounds To Victory In 2011
Obviously, the Drummer Of The Year category is one of the most intense. However, Mike Portnoy took top drummer in a landslide victory. “Portnoy proved his significance with authority at the polls,” said Phil Hood, publisher and co-founder of Enter Music Publishing. “It will be very interesting to see what happens and if he can be a repeat winner in this prestigious category.”
Who will be “Best Drummer” in 2012? Get down with the Drummies and go vote. Of course, Enter Music Publishing appreciates your participation.
Will Stanton Moore Strut As Best Funk Drummer a Second-Line Time?
Stanton Moore has two qualities that make him successful where other New Orleans drummers may not. In addition to his music education, he also has a business degree. Let's face it: Stanton can strut with the best. He won “Best Funk Drummer” last year and is featured on the April 2012 cover of DRUM! Look for it on newsstands beginning next week.
About Enter Music Publishing

Founded in San Jose, CA in 1992, Enter Music Publishing, Inc. is a leading publisher of informative and entertaining drum and music-related media, with distribution in 40 countries. DRUM! Magazine is the company’s flagship publication and continues to set the industry standard for editorial quality and innovation. Enter Music Publishing, Inc. also publishes, a leading drum-related Web site. The company’s mission is to be the best source of drumming news and information in the world.

1 comment: